It seems that votes are kept when editing existing community ad submissions. For example, in this case, I would vote for the first version, but not the later ones, and yet the votes are kept. Even if the actual meaning is the same, the formatting and presentation matters.
What should be done about such situations? Should votes be reset if major changes are made to the ads that are presented? Should making major changes to them be disallowed altogether?